First Volleyball Practice of the Season

Click the Title above to Open Post

This year I’m coaching the youngest age group I have ever taken for an entire season – 13 and under girls. For the past 5 years I have only coached high school players at the club level, so a more competitive and “learn/win” driven approach to coaching. What’s great is that I coach for a volleyball club that doesn’t JUST focus on winning. We feel that while winning is lovely, it isn’t the most important thing in the world, and we would never compromise our integrity or our players just to put a “W” up on the board. I think that this season is going to give me a huge opportunity for personal growth in the patience and creativity department, as I have a full roster.

What a lovely group of ladies we have coaching this year!

Later today we will meet with the parents for around an hour, and then the girls will get to practice for the remaining hour. I’ll try not to scare them too much with my 4 page packet of what I expect of both players and parents, and then hopefully I can get all of the girls to learn and remember each other’s names before the end of the hour.

Wish me Luck!

