Recipes – How closely do you follow them?

Do you ever find yourself flipping through recipe books or clicking through page after page of recipes trying to decide what to make? I do. I look at more cookbooks and websites than I cook nowadays it seems. Last night I came to one I couldn’t pass up – Roasted Chicken Thighs w/ Lemon and Oregano featured on Bon Appetite. But why do I bother looking at all of these recipes – I hardly EVER follow them without changes or adjustments.

How I Didn’t Follow Bon Appetite’s Recipe:
Last night I didn’t have all of the ingredients that the recipe called for and wasn’t about to make another trip to the store. There was food in the house and I knew I’d make it work. Below is my version of Bon Appetite’s recipe, it turned out delicious. Truly the perfect late summer or early fall meal with the flavors of comfort food, though a much healthier choice.

IMG_0758.JPG

Roasted Chicken Thighs with Lemon and Oregano Rosemary

Ingredients:

  • 4 Medium-large boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 Small lemons, reserve 1/4 lemon then slice the rest thin
  • 3 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1 Medium sprig rosemary, chopped finely
  • 1/2 Large onion, chopped
  • 6 Green onions, peeled and sliced
  • 5-7 Cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 5-7 Hatch chiles, seeded (mostly) and roughly chopped
  • 3-4 Celery stalks, sliced thin
  • 2 Cubes onion bouillon
  • 1/3 c. Dry white wine (I used Searidge chardonnay)
  • Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 475 degrees F
  • Grab a skillet intended for stovetop and oven use!I failed here at first, had to transfer from one pot to another, bummer. My Le Creuset was the perfect solution.

Get crispy with it!

STOVETOP: Heat coconut oil in skillet on med-high heat, place chicken in fat down if there is any. Then add lemon slices to the top of the chicken and the rest of the slices surrounding it in the pan (these will caramelize). You want to brown and cook that side of the chicken, and halfway through tilt the pan back and forth, making sure that each piece isn’t sticking to the pan. Add onion bouillon, onion, green onion, chiles, celery, garlic and rosemary, stirring frequently until fragrant. Add wine and season lightly with salt and pepper. Cook for 5-6 minutes, stirring lightly, then cover immediately and remove from heat.

OVEN: Place in the preheated oven and bake for 23-27 minutes. Remove and let stand for 10 minutes before opening lid.

This easy chicken recipe was perfect with a wild rice and lentil mix but would also be delicious with yukon gold potatoes.

What is the last substitution you used in a recipe?

photo: Bon Appetite

5 thoughts on “Recipes – How closely do you follow them?

  1. I enjoy reading cookbooks if I want to learn a new technique, or if I want to check a cooking time/temperature for a specific cut of meat or type of fish- I suppose I use them more like reference books. When I browse online for recipes though, I am usually looking for inspiration. I have found that many recipes online (because they have not been tested and vetted by cookbook testers) are not very good or don’t work completely. Instead I’ll look for an idea, like recently I saw a Thai coconut curry online and thought- “yum! that sounds good!” So then I looked up probably 15-10 Thai coconut curry recipes, and I used my basic cooking knowledge to take parts from some, and leave parts of others. For example, one insisted that you could use Thai basil OR regular basil- which I completely disagree with! The flavor would be terribly off if you used regular basil, so I ignored that. One included peanuts, but I prefer the way that cashews soften in a sauce so I used those instead. That kind of thing.

Questions or Comments? Leave them here!

